UPGRADE YOUR SKILLS: Learn advanced Swift and SwiftUI on Hacking with Swift+! >>

Weird value update issue with TextField

Forums > SwiftUI

I am quite new to SwiftUI but allready bumping my head on the wall with a strange issue.

I am displaying a list of items in a NavigationSplitView. And I want to update the content of my items in the associated detailed view. My datamodel is quite simple :

struct Item: Codable, Identifiable {
    var id = UUID()

var description: String
    var quantity: Int
}

I am using 2 TextFields to display the Item content :

TextField(text: $item.description) {
    Text("Description: ")
}
.onSubmit(updateItem)

TextField(value: $item.quantity, format: .number) {
    Text("Quantity: ")
}
.onSubmit(updateItem)

the updateItem function is simply updating my item in the items list. description is updating correctly but not quantity. I thought something was going wrong with the formatter. So I change the code to be :

@State var nb = 0

[...]
}
.onSubmit(updateItem)

TextField(value: $nb, format: .number) {
}
.onSubmit {
print(nb)                                   // nb is correctly updated with the value in the TextField
item.quantity = nb                   // item is not modified !!!!!!
print(item.quantity)                  // item still contains the old quantity value
updateItem()

The value from the TextField is updated correctly but item can't be updated with it.... Am I missing something here ?

is the item variable marked with @state?

Your data model is a struct, which means the detail view gets a copy of it.

You do not reveal how you modeled your list of items, nor the process for selecting an item within the first column of your list. We'll need more clues.

In the meantime, you may want to check this excellent tutorial from Stewart Lynch on NavigationSplitViews.

See -> NavigationSplitViews
Be sure to give him a thumbs up, if his video teaches you new SwiftUI concepts.

Please return here and tell us how you solved your issue.