TEAM LICENSES: Save money and learn new skills through a Hacking with Swift+ team license >>

SOLVED: SwiftData Predicate changing at user input?

Forums > SwiftUI

Hi everyone, I've been fighting with SwiftData for the past few days without reaching an understanding. I have to say I'm just a beginner so I may have made mistakes somewhere else too, but still I don't understand.

So, what I'm trying to do is to have a list of Words (a class of mine), which are stored in SwiftData, filtered depending on the category the user chooses. It appears SwiftData has other ideas though.

For organizing the code I took inspiration from Apple's sample code.

Category model

Let's start with the Category model (which represents the category a word may belong to). ColorComponents is a very simple Codable struct I wrote to store a color, not important.

import Foundation
import SwiftData

@Model
class Category: Codable, Equatable {
    enum CodingKeys: CodingKey {
        case name, primaryColor, secondaryColor
    }

@Attribute(.unique) let name: String
    let primaryColor: ColorComponents
    let secondaryColor: ColorComponents

init(name: String, primaryColor: ColorComponents, secondaryColor: ColorComponents) {
        self.name = name
        self.primaryColor = primaryColor
        self.secondaryColor = secondaryColor
    }

required init(from decoder: Decoder) throws {
        let container = try decoder.container(keyedBy: CodingKeys.self)
        self.name = try container.decode(String.self, forKey: .name)
        self.primaryColor = try container.decode(ColorComponents.self, forKey: .primaryColor)
        self.secondaryColor = try container.decode(ColorComponents.self, forKey: .secondaryColor)
    }

func encode(to encoder: Encoder) throws {
        var container = encoder.container(keyedBy: CodingKeys.self)
        try container.encode(self.name, forKey: .name)
        try container.encode(self.primaryColor, forKey: .primaryColor)