TEAM LICENSES: Save money and learn new skills through a Hacking with Swift+ team license >>

"Stream" data from child view to parent view

Forums > SwiftUI

@gs  

Hello,

I'm a Swift newbie and building an app that helps with dictation for MacOS. Here is the overview of how the project is setup.

1. SpeechRecognizerManager (ObservableObject Class): Handles all things to do with speech recognition - Permissions, Start transcribing, Stop transcribing and has a variable transcribedText which outputs in real-time as the user is talking.
  2. ListeningButton (Swift UI): Creates a button that handles all cases of listening using SpeechRecognizerManager. Permissions (onAppear), Start & Stop transcribing (On Toggle), Button's UI changes (On Toggle). It has two binding variables: isListening & transcribedText. The goal for these variables is to always keep the parent view updated with the latest status.
  3. ContentView (Swift UI): I plan to call the ListeningButton to various views, testing with first view currently. I have access to both isListening & transcribedText. However, I only get access to transcribedText when the listening is stopped.

Requirement: Get access to transcribedText in the parent view as the text is transcribed, in real-time.

Possible Solutions: Below are the solutions I can think of as a newbie. I'd like to know if there are any other solutions or one of these are recommended.

1. Somehow get access to SpeechRecognizerManager.transcribedText in the parent view. I don't know if it is possible and how so. (Update: I figured out how to do this based on @dbtl88's correction of GPT-4 coding skills :) I still need to know if this is the best way or not.)
  2. Change the ListeningButton UI to constantly (using while isListening: true) set transcribedText = SpeechRecognizerManager.transcribedText. Is this recommended? Feels like a "hack", but I'm not sure.