TEAM LICENSES: Save money and learn new skills through a Hacking with Swift+ team license >>

iOS Document App Template has upload issues related to UTTypes

Forums > SwiftUI

My app started from the iOS Document App template. I recently tried to upload it to App Store Connect (for TestFlight) and got error messages. So, I created a new app from the iOS Document App template in Xcode 14.2, changed only 1 thing (to be like my app), tried to upload it, and get the same error messages.

The one thing I changed was essentially in the info.plist. Using Xcode, in "Info", I changed Imported Type Identifiers, Extensions, from "exampletext" to "txt". My app reads and lets users edit plain-text files and saves new files with the extension ".txt".

Please let me know how to fix this. I'm a newbie, so details are very helpful. If there's a document, website, or YouTube that I should review, please let me know.

Here are the messages during upload:

Distribution failed with errors:

Asset validation failed. Disallowed UTTypes value. The Info.plist key 'LSItemContentTypes' under 'CFBundleDocumentTypes' in 'DocTemplate.app' has disallowed values '[com.example.plain-text]'. A Uniform Type Identifier starting with one of the patterns in the list '( "com.example.")' is disallowed. (ID: 80fc7e4d-9d35-4871-9684-ad7feba7b928)

Asset validation failed. Disallowed UTTypes value. The Info.plist key 'UTTypeIdentifier' under 'UTImportedTypeDeclarations' in 'DocTemplate.app' has disallowed values '[com.example.plain-text]'. A Uniform Type Identifier starting with one of the patterns in the list '( "com.example." )' is disallowed. (ID: b9165f4d-0098-42bf-a25a-9dd251e4e941)

Asset validation failed. This bundle is invalid. The value of the CFBundleDocumentTypes key in the Info.plist must be an array of dictionaries, with each dictionary containing at least the CFBundleTypeName key.

The error message tells you what you need to do to correct the issue: