TEAM LICENSES: Save money and learn new skills through a Hacking with Swift+ team license >>

SOLVED: Initializing a View with a Property

Forums > SwiftUI

I am an expeienced professional iOS developer but very inexperienced with SwiftUI, just started using it last week.

I have a so-far-simple app that has a SwiftUI wrapper around a WebView and a footer view (named WebNavigationView) with navigation buttons. I have been following an example app at https://github.com/yamin335/SwiftUIWebView

As in the example app, I am using a PassthroughSubject to publish messages to the WebView.

I want to use the navigation buttons to send back and forward navigation commands to the webView. For proper code modularization, I want to pass the ContentView's viewModel to the WebNavigationView so i can call its PassthroughSubject from the buttons.

ContentView

struct ContentView: View {
   @ObservedObject var viewModel = ViewModel()

var body: some View {
      VStack(spacing: 0) {
         WebView(currentURL: storeURL.urlString, viewModel: viewModel).overlay (
            RoundedRectangle(cornerRadius: 4, style: .circular)
               .stroke(Color.gray, lineWidth: 0.5)
         )
         WebNavigationView().frame(minWidth: 0, maxWidth: .infinity, minHeight: 64, maxHeight: 64).background(Color.white)
      }

}
}

struct ContentView_Previews: PreviewProvider {
   static var previews: some View {
      ContentView()
   }
}

WebNavigationView so far is:

struct WebNavigationView: View {
   @State var viewModel: ViewModel

HStack(alignment: .center, spacing: 32, content: {
         Button(action: goBack) {
            Image(systemName: "chevron.backward").resizable().aspectRatio(contentMode: .fit)
         }.frame(width: 38, height: 38, alignment: .center).padding(.leading, 64)
         Button(action: goForward) {
            Image(systemName: "chevron.forward").resizable().aspectRatio(contentMode: .fit)
         }.frame(width: 38, height: 38, alignment: .center)