UPGRADE YOUR SKILLS: Learn advanced Swift and SwiftUI on Hacking with Swift+! >>

I'm happy with 100 days of SwiftUI

Forums > SwiftUI

A little background. I started with computers back in the late 60's. At the end of my career I was a developer of system software for IBM mainframes written mainly in Assembly. So, I am used to small computers, 256K in my first mainframe, and tight code, we had a customer that shoved 1,000 transactions a second through one instance of our code.

With that background I came to the iPhone, for fun. I can progrram, I designed and coded for a living for years. How hard can this be?

It's an entirely different world. There were around 200 instuctions and I regularly used about 50 of them. I knew the rest existed and if I had to use them I could look in the principles of operation manual. I knew them after the 40 years I spent using them. God only knows how many classes, functions, options for those functions, etc. SwiftUI, and other old frameworks that are still used, gave but the total has to be in the thousands.

So I watched a video or two, got an idea of what I wanted the app to look like, and had nothing but problems. About 2 steps into the code I had to go off to Google, my friend, and root around until I found something that would work. Then 1 more step and back to Google. Three mre steps and back to Google where I discovered what I did back at the beginning was not how Swift/iOs did things and if I did it some other way it became much simpler. It almost made me feel like an idiot. What saved me from that was the understanding that I could do some things well and others poorly and the things I did poorly could be imprved.

So, the way I was doing things was not going to work. It would take me years of stopping constantly to find out how to do something and finding out that something I did 20 steps ago was not the way to do it and now I had to go back and do all of it again. I gave up.