TEAM LICENSES: Save money and learn new skills through a Hacking with Swift+ team license >>

SOLVED: How to determine which List row that we've scrolled to is in view?

Forums > SwiftUI

@beely  

Hi guys,

Newbie here, working on my first Swift and SwiftUI Mac app, and Paul's resources here have been an outrageously helpful and well put-together resource.

It's been going great so far, but I'm having a problem with List scrolling and could do with some guidance from more experienced people.

I have a List (wrapped in a ScrollViewReader) that for demonstration purposes can be thought of as groups containing a Title item (which has an ID) and a number of text lines following it:-

Title (0)

• some item
  • some item

Title (1)

• some item ...

etc. As I use my cursor up/down keys, the list will scroll to the prev/next Title item so the Title is at the top of the view (using ScrollTo with the Title ID).

This works great, until you scroll the list using the scroll bar, as now we don't know what Title is in view.

Any ideas, strategies or pointers as to how I can determine the topmost Title item in view that I've scrolled to, so that when I resume using the cursor keys, I can keep the position and scroll to the next or previous one from my current scroll position?

Now I'm off to read up on GeometryReader... wish me luck! ;)

Cheers!

@beely  

Ok, so on the basis that when I've finally exhausted all my investigation and resorted to making a post asking for help, that's usually when I figure something out. :)

I've managed to implement this using the following component: https://github.com/Ceylo/ListItemTracking

It's an iOS package, but I was able to use it in my Mac project directly. You basically attach the new onItemFrameChanged modifier to the items you want to track - in my case, the "Title" Text items, and as you scroll it returns either a frame of co-ordinates if the item is in view, or nil if it's not in view.

struct ContentView: View {