UPGRADE YOUR SKILLS: Learn advanced Swift and SwiftUI on Hacking with Swift+! >>

SOLVED: How do I get my View to update when my data changes

Forums > SwiftUI

Hi, I am new to swiftui, trying to make a chess app that shows a board 8x8 Rectangles. Chess position is given as a dictionary with each square as key a1-8, b1-8...h1-h8 and a letter describing the piece on that square. The dictionary needs to change as moves are made and the board view should update.

But I cannot see how to do it. Here is my view (only one line etc shwon for brevity)

import SwiftUI

struct BoardView: View {

// Sizes
    private let squareSize: CGFloat = 65
    private let labelSize: CGFloat = 22

// Squares on the chess board
    private var a1 = Rectangle(), a2 = Rectangle(), a3 = Rectangle(), a4 = Rectangle()
    ... others for rest of the board

// Controller
    @ObservedObject var boardController: BoardController

init(boardController: BoardController) {
        self.boardController = boardController
    }

// Chess piece overlay
    @ViewBuilder func pieceOverlay(square: String) -> some View {

if $boardController.position[square] == "K" {
            Image("white_king")
        } else if boardController.position[square] == "Q" {
            Image("white_queen")
        } else if boardController.position[square] == "R" {
            Image("white_rook")
        } else if boardController.position[square] == "B" {
            Image("white_bishop")
        } else if boardController.position[square] == "N" {
            Image("white_knight")
        } else if boardController.position[square] == "P" {
            Image("white_pawn")
        } else if boardController.position[square] == "k" {
            Image("black_king")
        } else if boardController.position[square] == "q" {
            Image("black_queen")
        } else if boardController.position[square] == "r" {
            Image("black_rook")
        } else if boardController.position[square] == "b" {