UPGRADE YOUR SKILLS: Learn advanced Swift and SwiftUI on Hacking with Swift+! >>

Functions what is ‘returning’ a value?

Forums > SwiftUI

@CJ  

Hi

Firstly, I apologise if this is a stupid question but I am totally new to programming. I am on day 10 but am a bit confused by why some functions are seen as 'returning' a value and some are not. I'd like to include screenshot examples to elaborate on my point but I cannot see how to do this. What looks like a 'photo' button doesn't seem to operate as I would expect. If anyone can explain how to do this, I would be grateful.

Anyway, will try my best to explain. The timestables function from day 7 has input parameters but specifies no return - is it not returning integers? I understand it is not producing just one value but it is doing some 'computational work' so it is returning something isn't it? Is it because it is only 'printing' the output? The pythagoras function from the same day, however, is returning a value. Similarly on day 10 the mutating function for employee specifies as an int parameter but has no return value. Again, though, it does subtract one integer from another so is doing 'computational work' rather than simply printing something (although the function does 'print', it needs to work something out in order to do so doesn't it?). I would think of that as returning a value but clearly it isn't. And yet pulling something from an array is returning a value.

Apologies if this should be obvious but I keep thinking I get but then can't quite convince myself that I do!

Thanks for reading

CJ is grappling with a programming concept:

why do some functions return values and some do not?

Think of a function as a basic unit of work, or a task.

At one boring job, it was my task to make sure one certain door was locked at 4:30 PM.

// function to lock the door
func lockTheDoor( someDoor: Door ) {
    if someDoor.isUnlocked {
        someDoor.locked = true
    }
}