TEAM LICENSES: Save money and learn new skills through a Hacking with Swift+ team license >>

Create an Array of IDs from an Array of Structs

Forums > SwiftUI

@DaveC  

Hey everyone! Just joined the forum today, and this is my first post.

I'm not a professional developer, but I'm not brand new to the concepts either having dabbled in the past in several languages, but I'm new to SwiftUI and to iOS development in general. I'm working on my first app which is a trivia app that will present quizzes of 10 random questions from the pool of items that belong to the selected category. I'm still refining the logic, but my thought was to have a struct for the item (id, question, array of choices, etc.). The pool of items would be an array of struct instances. In addition to this, I envisioned a few [Int] arrays to keep track of things such as:

• availableItems: [Int] would be the id values of the items that have not yet been answered correctly in a previous quiz
  • completedItems: [Int] would be the id values of the items that have been correctly answered on previous quizzes. completedItems.count() would be used to keep a running score total across multiple sessions
  • quiz: [Int] would be the id values of the 10 items randomly selected from availableItems for the current quiz.

Given the following setup (which is a simplified version of what I'm really working on), how would you go about creating the arrays mentioned above? Or would you go about it a different way altogether?

struct TriviaItem {
    var id: Int
    var question: String
    var correctAnswer: String
    var incorrectAnswers: [String]
}

@Observable
class TriviaManager {

var dataService = DataService()
    var itemPool = [TriviaItem]()
    var quiz = [Int]()
    var completedItems = [Int]()
    var availableItems = [Int]()

init(dataService: DataService = DataService(),
         itemPool: [TriviaItem] = [TriviaItem](),
         quiz: [Int] = [Int](),
         completedItems: [Int] = [Int](),