UPGRADE YOUR SKILLS: Learn advanced Swift and SwiftUI on Hacking with Swift+! >>

Beginner Question

Forums > SwiftUI

Sorry to be so dumb but I am struggling to understand where to put my application logic in my SwiftUI application?

I am a 20+ years experience programmer but I am obviously missing something. For my app, I'd like to do some basic setup. Eg: Load some data structures from a db and store them in my model objects, connect to remote server to start listening for messages. Basically "non-ui" code. I can define my methods etc in classes/structs as I would expect but I can't seem to execute them in sensible way as everything seems to hang of a "view"

Consider this flow...

print("Hello world!")
var x = myclass()
x.DoSomeStuff()
x.LoadSomeStuff()

var y = x.MyProperty

Print(y)

Where the heck do I put code like this?

Thanks!

Thanks for the response. No not running this code in playgrounds. I'm re-writing a Windows app for MacOS and using Xcode. The code above was simply to illustrate my point, that I want to execute arbitrary code to execute application logic that doesn't explicitly belong in the view yet. I am fairly sure that we aren't supposed to put our business logic in the view.

I will dig into the 100 days of code to try and see where I'm going wrong but a pointer to which day you believe would will help answer my question would be appreciated.

To be clear..I am a developer with many years experience in Java/C++/C# and I do this for a living, but I am new to the Mac and Swift/SwiftUI. so respectfully please don't patronise, this simply leaves a bad taste in the mouth and I suspect is not the point of this otherwise helpful community.