UPGRADE YOUR SKILLS: Learn advanced Swift and SwiftUI on Hacking with Swift+! >>

Why are table views so difficult? And autolayout as well?

Forums > Swift

Hi, I know this is probably on some level very flawed questions, I am probably missing something. I was a web developer for a while, and I am studying iOS now. I dont get it, why are views, setting up constraints so hard? Compared to HTML for example. And for love of god, why do I have to setup cells, and register cells and deque a cell etc? Compared to for example placing a div in HTML, that is super easy.

Does that have something to do with memory management? And how on earth can someone build a compex app on iOS if you have to manage so many things? Write so many methods etc? That code has to be insane.

If I just look at an app like Procreate for example, compared to my own super simple apps, I cannot even imagine how that codebase looks like.

I think the reason is that UIKit was created based on the Objective-C programming language, before the people developing UIKit even knew that Swift would come along and make everything easier. So, they were basically taking a language created in the early '80s, and trying to figure out how they could create tools from the Objective-C foundation that would make it easier to make User Interfaces with it in the early '00s.

The people creating Objective-C in the early '80s didn't have the foresight to create the language to be easily used for creating graphical user interfaces, and probably didn't think that it would need to be used for much more than presenting text on screens. So, building this bridge was far from an easy task, and still required using some really messy looking code along the way.