TEAM LICENSES: Save money and learn new skills through a Hacking with Swift+ team license >>

Swift Data and CloudKit

Forums > Swift

I'm having a lot of trouble finding resources that show how Swift Data works with CloudKit. I've never worked with Core Data before so I don't really understand what's going on in tutorials that use it with CloudKit.

I'm trying to transition from Firebase to Cloudkit. There are a few of Models/Records I want to be shared between multiple Users. It's a event app that consists of these models: Location, Event, Attendee, and Post. I don't want Locations to be tied to any one User, and I want Event to be owned by more than one User. Post would be owned by a single User, and Attendee would describe accommodations or details about the User's attendance.

I understand general database schemas, I just don't understand how any of this works between CloudKit Containers and Swift Data. If anyone can point me to info that explains it, or give me some insight, I would appreciate it.

I would also like help ( maybe a video by Paul? ) on exactly the same as you wrote.

Disclaimer: Currently, there seem to be some bugs when sharing data between different devices and sometimes it simply doesn't work. So it's difficult to differentiate if you have a bug in your code or it's a bug in SwiftData's data sharing.

This picture is an example on how to set it up: https://twitter.com/FloWritesCode/status/1668287882711412736

If you haven't watched WWDC videos already you should before starting:

Another examples:

https://medium.com/@priya_talreja/swiftdata-in-swiftui-part-1-18919ce2612

https://medium.com/@priya_talreja/swiftdata-in-swiftui-part-2-7a17b06a328a