UPGRADE YOUR SKILLS: Learn advanced Swift and SwiftUI on Hacking with Swift+! >>

SOLVED: Tool recommendation please: toolbar icon editor

Forums > macOS

Back when I was a windows developer, I creted icons using a package called Axialis IconWorkshop. It gave me a canvas to draw on that was sized for icons. I'm now working on a Mac application and need to create some custom images for a toolbar and am looking for an equivalent editor app for the Mac.

What i have found so far seem to fall in to one of two groups; full-blown image/photo editors or tools that convert an existing image into an imageset. I bought IconSlate on the understanding that it could edit icons but it appears to be nother of those 'drag in an image and we'll create the icons' style tools. I have Affinity Designer/Photo but, being somewhat challenged when it comes to graphics, am finding them overkill for a 64x64 png file.

I can't use SF Symbols because the imges I need aren't in there.

So, I'm looking for a recommendtion for something simple to use that can edit 'small' png graphic files. I assume there must be people here who have faced the same problem of creating toolbar icons.

Anyone got any recommendtions?

Thanks Steve

Ok, I have blundered along using IconWorkshop on the PC and transferring files. It's no way to develop software!

Firstly, I would like to offer a shout out to pictoprogrammers.com who have a vast array of icon images available for free in png and svg format (I can't post an actual like as the forum won't let me). Where I cannot find what I want in SF Symbols, I can usually find something I can customise in this collection.

I tried several bitmap editors to edit the images, but they're all geared up to editing larger images than my paultry 24x24 toolbar icons, so I eventually settled on using VSCode with the luna-paint plugin. The interface is very simple with a lot of the power hidden behind a menu. That works well for me.