UPGRADE YOUR SKILLS: Learn advanced Swift and SwiftUI on Hacking with Swift+! >>

Xcode 15: Could not build Objective-C module 'Cocoa;

Forums > iOS

Hey y'all - not sure if this is the right place to post, but I opened xcode today to see an error mesage: "Could not build Objective-C module 'Cocoa'"

I'm a newbie (day 2 of 100 days) so am really not sure how to fix this -- lmk if you have any ideas! TIA

Deactivate the "Enables modules (C and objective C) in build settings.

This is happening to me too, but in a Playground. I don't see a Build Settings for a Playground - is there one? If so, where is it?

BUILD THE ULTIMATE PORTFOLIO APP Most Swift tutorials help you solve one specific problem, but in my Ultimate Portfolio App series I show you how to get all the best practices into a single app: architecture, testing, performance, accessibility, localization, project organization, and so much more, all while building a SwiftUI app that works on iOS, macOS and watchOS.

Get it on Hacking with Swift+

Sponsor Hacking with Swift and reach the world's largest Swift community!

Removing the import statement seems to have worked for me.

Ah yes @buxley - this is happening to me in when I use xcode's playground! In the inspector (click the icon to the right of the '+' button in the top right corner to open the inspector), under playground settings, I changed the platform to 'iOS'; then I changed the import statement to "import UIKit" (or import SwiftUI), and now I don't have any errors.

But if I change the playground settings back to 'macOS', the issue with 'import Cocoa' still persists. Tried importing other libraries too, but same error each time. Not sure how to fix it, but I'm trying to learn to build an iOS app (rather than a mac app; and in any case, I'm just practicing with playgrounds and haven't actually started a project), so maybe I can just ignore the issue for now lol