TEAM LICENSES: Save money and learn new skills through a Hacking with Swift+ team license >>

SOLVED: Apple Books version "Hacking With MacOS"

Forums > Books

I am a beginner with programming in swift. A few years ago I bought the "Hacking with MacOS" from the Apple Books store. I bought it in 2021. In the meanwhile a lot has changed. For example now there is something like SwiftUI. And not all examples in the book seems to work anymore.

The examples I find on Paul's website are all ios examples (as far as I can see). However I want to learn it for MacOS and not ios.

However I have no idea if I need to buy the book again to get an updated version with SwiftUI examples. Or am I missing something on the apple book store? Or do I need to buy another book?

Thanks in advance.

Andre

Paul advertises free lifetime updates for his books, and says this applies to purchases from Gumroad and Apple's Book Store: https://www.hackingwithswift.com/update-policy

Like you, I purchased "Hacking with MacOS" before the SwiftUI edition was released. Although the SwiftUI Edition of this title is a separate book, I'm happy to report that Paul includes both the original AppKit and the new SwiftUI editions at no additional cost.

If you had bought the book through the Store link on this website, which links to Gumroad, you would have found all updates of both editions available for download in perpetuity, including newer versions as they are released. However, I don’t know how Apple's Book Store handles two books sold for a single price. Also, for books other than Paul Hudson's, I've found that Apple often fails to update a book when updates are released.

To replace your current AppKit edition with the latest version of both the AppKit and SwiftUI editions, I recommend you try the following: In the Books app, click the "3 dot" menu adjacent the Hacking book, select Remove, then select Delete.