TEAM LICENSES: Save money and learn new skills through a Hacking with Swift+ team license >>

Closures and the sorted function

Forums > 100 Days of SwiftUI

Hey im new to the course and while playing around with the code from the closures section and where paul introduces the shorthand $0 and $1 and so on i stumbled on something. I first saw it in some large sorting code i wrote but i boiled it down to this:

var firstArray = [9,3,6,]
let finalArray = firstArray.sorted{
    print("$0 is \($0) and $1 is \($1)")
    print($0<$1)
    return $0 < $1 }

print(finalArray)

This is an int array where i am sorting it in ascending order. It was my understanding from the video that the shorthand $0 means the first value from the array and that $1 is then the value after. And we want the first value $0 to be less than $1 which is what the code $0<$1 says.

But the code in the print function on the first run through says that $0 is 3 and $1 is 9. And the 2nd print return true true false when i should expect it to return false for the first print.

But the code works exactly as it should though so clearly i dont understand something.

I hope any 1 of you can explain this to me and thank you in advance to anyone who takes the time :)

$0 and $1 refer to the first and second parameters passed to the closure, not necessarily to the first and second items in the array. The sorted(by:) API doesn't guarantee that the array items are passed into the closure in the same order they appear in the array.

https://www.hackingwithswift.com/forums/100-days-of-swiftui/closures-and-the-sorted-function/16646/16647 Hey @roosterboy thank you for replying. I did read once that, that might be the case but some experimentation left me in doubt.