UPGRADE YOUR SKILLS: Learn advanced Swift and SwiftUI on Hacking with Swift+! >>

SOLVED: What the @ am I doing wrong?

Forums > SwiftUI

@GMacD  

Firstly sorry for the jpeg's but I am coding on an iPad and transferring the code on here is eluding me at the moment!

I haven't been able to get the Form Results to print the data that I input into the Form Builder View.

I am an absolute newbie and without this place I wouldn't have been able to get as far as I have and for this I thank you!

I am not overly confident that these jpeg's will appear so fingers crossed.

FormBuilder

FormResults

Kind Regards

Guy MacDonald

You probably don't need the FormResult struct at all. All it seems to be capable of doing is holding a property with your Observable Object in it, but you can give any of your views that same ability just as easily.

Then, in the FormResultsView struct, you shouldn't be calling the initializer for your ObjervableObject. You only want to call the initializer when you are creating the object for the first time using @StateObject. The way you have it now is creating a brand new object to be used as your @ObservableObject in this View. So any of the data in the original @StateObject you created is not being used in FormResultsView.

Change this line in your FormResultsView struct...

@ObservedObject var cardsOne = CardsOne()

To this instead...

@ObservedObject var cardsOne: CardsOne

But now, you will need to make sure that you are passing your @StateObject into the initializer for FormResultsView when you first create it.

@GMacD  

Thank you so much for your time!

Unfortunately I still have a problem. I actually inserted that struct because it's contents "@ObservedObject var cardsOne: CardsOne"produced the error below when in the main struct as you have advised.

This error leaves me completely baffled so I am hoping you can spare your time to help me get rid of it.