UPGRADE YOUR SKILLS: Learn advanced Swift and SwiftUI on Hacking with Swift+! >>

What am I doing wrong with func ?

Forums > SwiftUI

@GMacD  

I am completely stuck with this! In desperation I have copied and pasted several examples from the web with a func in them and none have worked. I should explain that I am an absolute newbie and to add to my disability I am doing this on an iPad in Playgrounds. Can someone please pick the bones out of this and tell me where I am going wrong. The Error: Expected 'func' keyword in instance method declaration is at the end of this code. Also I have // a couple of questions about my use of func (See first two funcs) //

import SwiftUI

// var formArray = [String]()
// var gameArray = [String]()

struct FormArrayBuilderView: View{

@ObservedObject var cards = Cards()
    @State var firstCards = (String)()
    @State var secondCards = (String)()
    @State var thirdCards = (String)()
    @State var fourthCards = (String)()
    @State var fifthCards = (String)()
    @State var sixthCards = (String)()
    @State var formData = (String)()

var body: some View {

VStack {

/* This is where the created Form Data (formData) will be placed into (formArray) and then change (gameArray) to equal (formArray) in another View for use by the Game Cards */

Text("This is where the created Form Data (formData) will be placed into (formArray) and then change (gameArray) to equal (formArray) in another View for use by the Game Cards")
                .font(.body)
                .foregroundColor(.black)
                .frame(alignment: .center)

Text(formData) // Not working (functions not working) //
                .font(.body)
                .foregroundColor(.black)
                .frame(alignment: .center)
        }
    }
    func joinCards() {
        firstCardsJoined() // Is this okay? (Calling a func inside a func) //
    }
    func firstCardsJoined() { // Is this okay? (Building a String inside func this way) //