UPGRADE YOUR SKILLS: Learn advanced Swift and SwiftUI on Hacking with Swift+! >>

Using .\self to filter a navigation view

Forums > SwiftUI

I have what may be a dumb question but I've been pulling my hair out trying to understand this. I am still learning Swift and SwiftUI and some of it hasn't quite clicked yet so I apologize if this seems naive.

I have built navigation into my app based on the Landmark app and other examples. I have a tricky JSON structure that I am trying to understand how to use to navigate.

I want to use the item in .self to filter to the category value that it matches and have the navigation link update accordingly. I just cannot figure out how to do this due to the structure.

This works works great for me to see the items in the array associated with the given day:

Text("Tuesday")
            .font(Font.custom("StencilWWII", size:60))
            ForEach(plan.tuesday, id: \.self) { item in
          Text(item)

The JSON is currently structured like this:

[
    {
        "program" : "6 Month",
        "id": "Block 1",
        "weeks": "1 To 4",
        "description": "In the first block of this program, you’ll build a baseline of general fitness and test yourself to evaluate your strengths and weaknesses.",
        "monday": ["Warmup", "Max Test","Finisher", "Cooldown"],
        "tuesday": ["Warmup", "Challenge", "Finisher", "Cooldown"],
        "wednesday" : ["Warmup", "Max Test" , "Challenge", "Finisher", "Cooldown"],
        "thursday" : ["Warmup", "Challenge", "Finisher", "Cooldown"],
        "friday" : ["Warmup", "Challenge", "Finisher", "Cooldown"],
        "saturday" : ["Rest", "Recovery"],
        "sunday" : ["Rest", "Recovery"]
    }
 ]

With my struct for the JSON setup like this:

import SwiftUI
import CoreLocation

struct Plan : Hashable, Codable, Identifiable {
    var id: String
    var program, weeks, description: String
    var monday, tuesday, wednesday, thursday, friday, saturday, sunday : [String]

}