UPGRADE YOUR SKILLS: Learn advanced Swift and SwiftUI on Hacking with Swift+! >>

UI questions with SwiftUI

Forums > SwiftUI

Hi,

I'm still rather new to SwiftUI (my prior experience is with SuperCard for making macOS apps). After finishing up "100 Days Of SwiftUI" (for iOS), and while waiting for Paul to release an updated iBook for SwiftUI for macOS, I decided to explore iOS development for a bit with a fun project in the latest version of Xcode/Swift. I've run into a couple of UI questions on iOS that I'm hoping someone with more experience can answer or offer advice on.

1. I have a form. In the first line I put in a DatePicker. I set it up to only include the date component. When I tap on the date which appears as "Apr 6, 2021" with a grey rounded rectangle background, the screen blurs and I get a nice date picker appearing centered on the screen. I can select a date and... nothing happens. By this, I mean, the date picker doesn't go away when I tap on a date... it just stays there unless I tap outside of it in the blurred background. Is this expected behavior or is there something I'm missing? Also, sometimes when I've changed the date and I tap outside to close the date picker, the text of the date picker suddenly changes to use 4/6/2021, except... it does this starting at the same left edge as things were with the prior "Apr 6, 2021" and shrinks the grey round rectangle inward on the right side - which leaves a larger white space on the right side of the list (that seems rather odd). I have not yet tried this on my iPod touch or iPad Pro (just the simulator). Is this some sort of known bug either with the date picker or in the simulator? Also, is there a way to customize how the date appears in the date picker (I only see options for date, time or both but nothing about the format for the date itself). I was thinking maybe if I could just change it to using 4/6/2021 it could get around this weirdness.