UPGRADE YOUR SKILLS: Learn advanced Swift and SwiftUI on Hacking with Swift+! >>

SOLVED: Trying to make a Observable Object with an array of Codable objects to be able to reference it anywhere in my app.

Forums > SwiftUI

Hi there!

I'm new to swift but have experience coding in other languages, mostly java.

I've looked through many of the different tutorials available at this site, and even though I'm starting to get used to some of the quirks of swift and swiftui there are still some things I'm having trouble to wrap my head around, like how to use the properties correctly for example.

Here's what I'm struggling with currently and would like some help with: I have made a MainView that downloads a JSON from a website (redacted here since I don't want it publicly available) and decode it through the use of a Codable class object and use parts of it to populate a list, so far so good. I'm now trying to make that list of objects available to other views and classes using ObservableObjects but haven't managed so far. The simplest solution seemed to be (at least to me) making a separate ObservableObject class that just contains an array of my Codable objects, but I haven't been able to make it work so far.

This data will later be stored in a database, but I've tried to just focus on the GUI first and will focus on building the database and all it's interactions later on, since I figured I should try to understand how this property business works. But maybe building up the database and all it's interactions would solve this issue?

Here's my working code:

"Main View"

import SwiftUI

struct Response: Codable {
    var configurations: [ConfigurationVO]
}

struct MainView: View {
    @State private var configurations = [ConfigurationVO]()

var body: some View {
        List(configurations, id: \.uid) { item in
            VStack(alignment: .leading) {
                Text(item.name)
                    .font(.headline)
            }

}