UPGRADE YOUR SKILLS: Learn advanced Swift and SwiftUI on Hacking with Swift+! >>

SwiftUI & CloudKit - CoreData Many to Many Relationships

Forums > SwiftUI

Hi everyone, I am new to Swift UI and working as well for the first time with CoreData and CloudKit. A lot of my questions could already be answered by existing tutorials or similiar already answered questions. But I couldnt find a great resource for Many to Many Relationships in CoreData.

In my project the user can save markers/timestamps by pushing a button, which triggers a function saving the data in CoreData. When the recording, during the user can save timestamps, is finished by a button press a function saves the recording to CoreData. My aim is that the recording saves and includes all created and saved markers/timestamps, so the user can click in i his history on a Project/Recording and gets all markers/timestamps for this recodring.

At that point I can save and create a marker and recording but not link them to each other.

How can I do it the easiest way - with a Many to Many Relationship? How do Many to Many Relationships work in my code?

I would be really thankfull for help and ideas!

• Robert

PS: On the phtos you can see that I already tried to create Relationships, but I can't create them with a function...

Screenshots

In your case this is a one to many relationship. One Recording can have many UsedMarker but one UsedMarker can only have one Recording. Unless I completely misunderstand your requirement. What you do is, create your UsedMarker entity with all data and add it to the NSSet via the addToUsedMarker function in your Recording. That's it. Core Data does the rest under the hood for you.