UPGRADE YOUR SKILLS: Learn advanced Swift and SwiftUI on Hacking with Swift+! >>

SOLVED: Show CloudKit Public Database info in List

Forums > SwiftUI

HI All,

i am brand new to this and am just starting to learn about swiftui in 2020 so have no knowledge of everything that came before.

I have created an app that uses cloudkit. I have a public database with some test data in.

All i am wanting is a very basic explanation of how to get that data from the cloudkit public database into a list in my app, it would also be amazing if you could show with file names, where you are putting bits of code.

I have a a record type called Shoes, in the record i have (brand, name, size)

I would like the user to have a list of all shoes that appeer in that database.

I would also appreciate filenames to go along with this if there is code in more than one file as i have been getting a little lost with the best practices of where to put code.

I know this is a big ask but i cannot find anything simple and strightforward out there in this new iteration of a language.

Thanks In Advance, Kind Regards

Adam

I assume you have developer signing!

You will need to add iCloud to "Signing and Capabilities" and check CloudKit and the Container

You need where to store them a file called "Shoe"

import Foundation
import CloudKit

class Shoes: ObservableObject {
    @Published var lists: [Shoe] = []
}

struct Shoe: Identifiable {
    var id = UUID()
    var recordID: CKRecord.ID?
    var brand: String = ""
    var name: String = ""
    var size: Int = 0
}

then a file named "CKShoe"

import Foundation
import CloudKit

class CKShoe {
    static let database = CKContainer.default().publicCloudDatabase

class func fetch(completion: @escaping (Result<[Shoe], Error>) -> ()) {
        let predicate = NSPredicate(value: true)
        let name = NSSortDescriptor(key: "name", ascending: true)
        let query = CKQuery(recordType: "Shoes", predicate: predicate)