UPGRADE YOUR SKILLS: Learn advanced Swift and SwiftUI on Hacking with Swift+! >>

Read Data from Firebase to View

Forums > SwiftUI

Hello all,

I'm still a beginner and have a question, I'm trying to read data from the database with Firebase how can I pass this to a text? I want to pass "testUser" and display it.

anyone have an idea :-)

import SwiftUI
import FirebaseDatabase
import Firebase

struct uebergeben: View {

var body: some View {

VStack {

Text(datenLesen)

}
    }

func datenLesen() {
        let user = Auth.auth().currentUser!.uid

Database.database().reference().child("benutzer").child(user).child("nuterinfo").child("nutzername").observeSingleEvent(of: .value, with: { (snapshot) in
            if let testUser = snapshot.value as? String {
                print(testUser)
            }

})
    }
}

struct uebergeben_Previews: PreviewProvider {
    static var previews: some View {
        uebergeben(test: "Daten Abrufen")
    }
}

@twostraws has held a few live coding sessions (Swift on Sundays, for example) where he opens the floor to questions from the audience. I remember a few folks asking Paul to dedicate a session to integrating FireBase into a Swift app.

I remember him declining and understanding the logic of his reply. There are existing Apple technologies (CoreData, iCloud) that perform similar functions. This is not to say FireBase (and other technologies) aren't useful. But Hacking with Swift is an incredible site dedicated to (wait for it....) SWIFT. Swift and SwiftUI are changing as such a rapid pace, it's difficult just to keep up with Apple's updates and additions. Adding external toolsets, libraries, and dependencies would be overwhelming.

While there may be plenty of folks here who have dabbled with FireBase, or even successfully integrated it into a Swift application, I am suggesting you may not find a lot of support in these forums for your FireBase questions.