UPGRADE YOUR SKILLS: Learn advanced Swift and SwiftUI on Hacking with Swift+! >>

Picker Containing City Names That Contain Coordinates

Forums > SwiftUI

So I am looking to make a picker which has cities for example: New York, Toronto etc. and the user will choose his city and when he chooses it will change the coordinates.

var coordinates = Coordinates(latitude: (Latitude depending on city chosen as double), longitude: (Longitude depending on city chosen as double)

I am a bit new to SwiftUI so I don't understand how to do this.

You created your account the same day you asked this question. So, Welcome to Hacking With Swift forums!

In the header of each page in HackingWithSwift is a search bar. Did you search for "picker" using the search bar? @twostraws has several articles and videos where he explains (using great examples!) how to construct and use pickers. Let us know which articles helped you, or which parts need more clarification.

This may not be a SwiftUI problem. But we're glad to help you think through this problem.

Ask yourself, "Self? What do I want my user to see in the picker?"

You answered "City Names".

Then ask yourself, "What do I need when the user selects a city from the picker?"

You answered: "Latitude and Longitude"

Now you need to think about your model. HOW will you model this so that you have data to show your users and also have data to use in your application?

You should think along the lines of, "What Swift programming structure can help me organize a bunch of similar data?" Well the answer will soon be very familiar to you. It's a structure!

struct City: Identifiable {
    let id = UUID() // useful for common SwiftUI display
    let city: String  // Toronto, Naples, Berlin, etc.
    let latitude: String  // What's the best format to
    let longitude: String // store latitude and longitude?
    let description: String // maybe a few sentences?
}