UPGRADE YOUR SKILLS: Learn advanced Swift and SwiftUI on Hacking with Swift+! >>

SOLVED: Making CoreData implementation conform to MVVM

Forums > SwiftUI

Hey, I am new to SwiftUI (2.0) and I'm trying to follow the MVVM pattern. While trying to implement CoreData, I ran into some issues. While I can access my data from the View, I can't find out how I would access it from my ViewModel. Can give me a tip how to make the implementation of CoreData conform to MVVM?

MyApp.swift:

import SwiftUI
import CoreData

@main
struct MyApp: App {

@Environment(\.scenePhase) private var scenePhase

var body: some Scene {
        WindowGroup {
            MainView()
                .environment(\.managedObjectContext, persistentContainer.viewContext)
        }
        .onChange(of: scenePhase) { phase in
                    switch phase {
                    case .active:
                        print("active")
                    case .inactive:
                        print("inactive")
                    case .background:
                        print("background")
                        saveContext()
                    }
                }
    }

var persistentContainer: NSPersistentContainer = {
            let container = NSPersistentContainer(name: "Model")
            container.loadPersistentStores(completionHandler: { (storeDescription, error) in
                if let error = error as NSError? {
                    fatalError("Unresolved error \(error), \(error.userInfo)")
                }
            })
            return container
        }()

func saveContext() {
            let context = persistentContainer.viewContext
            if context.hasChanges {
                do {
                    try context.save()
                } catch {
                    let nserror = error as NSError
                    fatalError("Unresolved error \(nserror), \(nserror.userInfo)")
                }
            }
        }
}

MainView.swift:

struct MainView: View {