UPGRADE YOUR SKILLS: Learn advanced Swift and SwiftUI on Hacking with Swift+! >>

Loop countdown timer: why @objc

Forums > SwiftUI

I'm trying to make an interval countdown timer with simply 2 buttons that each set the start time and begin counting down to zero and then repeat (keeping counts of repeats): one button at 15 seconds, the other at 30 seconds. I've found a number of tutorials and samples with all very different ways of doing this and got extra stumped when an example here used "@objc". Swift is the first language I have tried learning and as a beginner, I try to steer away from objective-c and there is plenty to learn in SwiftUI and Swift alone.

Here is the example with @objc: The ultimate guide to Timer from 1/3/21

Pauls writes: "Note: That needs to use @objc because Timer uses the target/action approach to method calls."

Yet, in all the other tutorials that use Timer, none have @objc. All the other tutorials from other sources use .onReceive. For example, Paul's here Counting down with a Timer from 4/18/20

So the lesson that is 9 months more recent requires @objc.

Can anyone explain what is going on or help me get on track?

In Objective-C, you could call another function using its name, also known as a selector. You did this through a syntax like this:

NSTimer *t = [NSTimer scheduledTimerWithTimeInterval: 2.0
                      target: self
                      selector:@selector(onTick:)
                      userInfo: nil repeats:NO];

Swift doesn't have the concept of selectors. You can pass a function directly into another function as a first-class value. But for older APIs that were built for Objective-C and take a selector, Swift has the #selector keyword. And since this is using the Objective-C runtime, you have to annotate your code with the @objc attribute.

So the above ObjC example becomes this in Swift:

let timer = Timer.scheduledTimer(timeInterval: 2.0,
                                 target: self,