UPGRADE YOUR SKILLS: Learn advanced Swift and SwiftUI on Hacking with Swift+! >>

How to use fetched (Core)Data in a Picker?

Forums > SwiftUI

Hi there, newbie here :-) first: Thank you Paul Hudson for all your content and thank you to all the other contributing members of this forum!

After viewing a lot of Swift-tutorials I still feel like I don't know anything about coding. Again I am stuck at a point I think I should be able to solve it by myself, but...

I want a Picker to show my saved Entity's names. It workes in a List, but I can't get the Picker to work. All examples I can find are using Arrays, not fetched Data, so I think I should maybe create an Array.

Can somebody please help me out?

Does the Binding var need to be inside the Struct/View?

Thanks a lot, Freddy

struct loadNewWorkers: View {
          @FetchRequest(sortDescriptors: [NSSortDescriptor(keyPath: \Worker.name, ascending: true)],
          predicate: NSPredicate(format: "pinCodeSet == false"))

var newWorkers: FetchedResults<Worker>

@Binding var newUserIndex: Int

var body: some View {

//              delete List afterwards
                VStack {
                List(newWorkers, id: \.self) { newWorker in
                        Text(newWorker.name!)
                    }

//              use  Picker
                Picker(selection: $newUserIndex, label: Text("")) {
                    ForEach(0..<newWorkers.count) {
                        Text(newWorker.name[$0])
                                  }

}
                }
              }
}

hi,

does the loadNewWorkers View appear inside a NavigationView? that needs to be the case for the Picker to work correctly.

hope that helps,

DMG

hi, thank you for your suggestion. Indeed I had commented-out the NavigationView, but unfotunately this doesn't change anything.

greetings

Hacking with Swift is sponsored by RevenueCat