UPGRADE YOUR SKILLS: Learn advanced Swift and SwiftUI on Hacking with Swift+! >>

SOLVED: How to sequence two functions that both depend on network request.

Forums > SwiftUI

@Bnerd  

I am experimenting and I came up with the following challenge: Function A calls a JSON url location from a server Function B is supposed to decode the JSON found at the location identified by Function A.

How can I trigger Function B only when (not if) the Function A has returned a result?

Is it something that AFnetworking would handle? I guess yes, but I was wondering if I am missing something.

Thanks!

I'm not very good with concurrency stuff, but isn't this what the await keyword is for?

https://www.hackingwithswift.com/swift/5.5/async-await

BNerd poses a challenge:

Function A calls a JSON url location from a server
Function B will decode the JSON found at the location identified by Function A.

You have two tasks here. Both may take some time to complete.

One strategy to consider. Define an object that has a property named projectURL. This is an optional, so it is nil until you, or some background task, gives it a value.

Consider adding a property observer to the projectURL. This property will be nil until the first function completes its background task. Your first background task will decode and populate the projectURL property. Then it will (it should) contain a well formed URL.

Because the property changed, the property observer can fire off and bundle up a second task. This second task will attempt to grab data from the provided URL. It will decode and populate your data structure as necessary.

You may also read up on TaskGroups. This may, or may not help you. I've not actually tried.

But here's a great vid on the subject from Nick!

See -> TaskGroup

Please return here and let us know how you solved this! (With code!)

Keep Coding!