UPGRADE YOUR SKILLS: Learn advanced Swift and SwiftUI on Hacking with Swift+! >>

How to Get Better at Design?

Forums > SwiftUI

I've written a few apps using SwiftUI. They pretty much do what I want them to do, but the look and feel leaves a lot to be desired. Especially when I compare them to the apps I use every day, like Things and Drafts.

What are good resources for app design?

This is a generic answer for anyone thinking about careers developing iOS, MacOS, and similar applications.

Hacking with Swift is the number one resource for diving into the application development pool. @twoStraws paces his lessons from absolute beginner through to working applications. And it's brilliant how he'll show working code, code that you or I would write, then a few lessons later teach a slicker, more concise, swiftier way to write the same code.

You build your knowledge upon previous lessons.

Development Teams

From the gist of your message, you're a hobbiest? You're crafting you own applcation to share with family, co-workers, or perhaps push to the Apple App Store to bolster a resume? Nice!

In many larger organizations, developers and interface designers work together. But their jobs are separate. A developer will have the freedom to design logic, data flow, message types, json structures, business rules. But they will be given explicit instructions how the interface should look.

You're making an application for a Uni? Here are their school colors and logo. This is a local green grocer's application? Here's a high resolution image of their market, and here are some seasonal vegetables. Use these! You'll even be told how much blur to put on a logo, what opacity to add to a background image, and just how rounded to make the text field's corners. You may not even have a say in the order of the fields on a screen. That's a designer's job, not a programmer's.