UPGRADE YOUR SKILLS: Learn advanced Swift and SwiftUI on Hacking with Swift+! >>

How does one control the tappable area of SwiftUI Buttons and NavigationLinks?

Forums > SwiftUI

Hey all,

I’m a completely-blind developer experiencing an interesting issue when testing my app.

For those of you unfamiliar with Voiceover, Apple has screen-reading software built-in to all of their products, which is how I’m able to use modern technology, like this computer.

What I’m encountering is a fully-functional app that launches on my phone and navigates as-intended, when using Voiceover. However, I’m told that, visually, my app isn’t presenting different Views, and this seems to be some sort of issue with the ’tappable area’ of the buttons. So, how can I make these buttons tappable?

Here’s what I’m working with:```

NavigationStack {

NavigationLink() { PuzzlePacksView() } label: { Button("Puzzles") { allSheetViewBooleans.showingPuzzlePacksView = true }//button .font(.title) .clipShape(Capsule()) }//navLink

}//NavigationStack

Think you trying to mix two action together!

A NavigationLink has the same similarity to a button but will present a View.

So you can do this

NavigationLink {
    PuzzlePacksView()
} label: {
    Text("Puzzles")
}
.font(.title)
.foregroundColor(.white)
.padding()
.background(Color.red)
.clipShape(Capsule())

or use a button to present a sheet with the View in like this

Button("Puzzles") {
    showingPuzzlePacksView = true
}
.font(.title)
.foregroundColor(.white)
.padding()
.background(Color.red)
.clipShape(Capsule())
.sheet(isPresented: $showingPuzzlePacksView) {
    PuzzlePacksView()
}

Both should read in voice "Puzzles", then say "isButton"

I’m intentionally doing this for a few reasons.