UPGRADE YOUR SKILLS: Learn advanced Swift and SwiftUI on Hacking with Swift+! >>

Hierarchical list navigation with Core Data - How?

Forums > SwiftUI

Total beginner here. Warning: this might be a long post, sorry!

I've been following along with the excellent tutorials and articles on this site and I feel that I'm getting somewhat of a tentative grip on SwiftUI. I'm very much still learning and thought I would ask this excellent community for help with my next step.

Now to my issue:

I want to create an iOS app, where the user can create categories and then add items to those categories (Category 1, Category 2, etc.).

I want those items to be shown in a list that uses one or more pieces of data to dynamically group the items together (Category 1 : Group 1, Category 1 : Group 2, etc.).

I then want to show the groups content in a new list. (Category 1 : Group 1: Item 1...n)

Perhaps an image will explain it better: Link to image on Google Drive

How can I achieve this? I've tried modifying the Bookworm project as well as following along with the Core Data tutorials, but I can't quite understand how to achieve what I want.

Example of user flow:

• Create a category (in sheet): "Deadlift"
  • Navigate to category and add new item (in sheet): "Weight: 140kg | Reps: 3, | Date() or some picked date"
  • Inside the category "Deadlift" there is now a list with a navigation item "3 reps (1 item) >"
  • Tapping on "5 reps (1 item) > shows a list with "100kg at Date"
  • Go back to the "Deadlift" category
  • Add new item: "90 kg | 5 reps | Date() or some picked date)
  • The list in category "Deadlift" now contains "3 reps (1 item), 5 reps (1 item) "

Does this make sense? Is this achievable with SwiftUI and something like Core Data?

Yes, this is definitely possible with SwiftUI. Your image was really helpful and makes me think you've already got a good idea of the data schema you want to use.