UPGRADE YOUR SKILLS: Learn advanced Swift and SwiftUI on Hacking with Swift+! >>

Creating Pickers in a form

Forums > SwiftUI

Hello all (and Paul !),

Thanks for this great ressource on SwiftUI, I'm just starting out, but this looks awesome.

I'm a bit stumped on the WeSplit Tutorial 8/10 :

The picker does not seem to behave the way it should, or at least the way Paul describes it. Despite adding the NavigationView, I still see the disclosure arrow and taping on the picker does nothing...

Here is my code :

struct ContentView: View {

@State private var checkAmount = ""
    @State private var numberOfPeople = 2
    @State private var tipPercentage = 2
    let tipPercentages = [10, 15, 20, 25, 0]

var body: some View {
        NavigationView {
            Form {
                         Section {
                             TextField("Amount", text: $checkAmount)
                               .keyboardType(.decimalPad)

Picker("Number of people", selection: $numberOfPeople) {
                           ForEach(2 ..< 100) { number in
                               Text("\(number) people")
                               }
                           }
                         }

Section {
                             Text("$\(checkAmount)")
                                }
                    }
        }
    }
}

Any ideas ?

thanks

I ran this snippet and I was able to click on "Number of people" and modify the value from the screen that was pushed onto the navigation stack.

I've noticed some issues with preview not working correctly in Xcode with Swift UI, or having to press the "Play" button to get interactivity. Might just be an Xcode bug, so try running it on the device.

Thanks for the reply Peter,