UPGRADE YOUR SKILLS: Learn advanced Swift and SwiftUI on Hacking with Swift+! >>

CoreData and Sections

Forums > SwiftUI

I have an app I've been toying with for a few years. It consists of a one to many relationship between a person and many events. I tried to follow Paul's video One to Many relationships to setup my desired view, but my data is not working for it. I am trying to figure out how best to approach solving the following problem:

I would like to have one view that shows all the people, you select the person and then you get a list of all that person's events (this is my default behavior and it works fine). The second view would be a list of all the types of events, you would select an event and get a list of all the people who have that event, sorted by person and then date.

The challenge is, my events entity consists of the event name, event date, a picture of the event, a reference to the person who the event belongs to and a unique UUID.

Each person entity has a NSSet of events, along with a name, and unique UUID.

Based on the above video I created a property that is a SET:

public var eventArray: [Event] {
   let set = events as? Set<Event> ?? []

return set.sorted {
     $0.wrappedEvent < $1.wrappedEvent
   }
}

When I create the sections in my list view

ForEach(events, id: \.self) { event in
       Section(event.wrappedEvent) {
          ForEach(event.recipient?.eventArray ?? [], id: \.self) { eventName in
              NavigationLink(destination:
                        ViewAnEventView(event: event, recipient: event.recipient!)) {
                                Text("\(eventName.wrappedEvent) \(eventName.wrappedEventDate, formatter: FilteredList.eventDateFormatter)")
                           }
           }
       }
 }