UPGRADE YOUR SKILLS: Learn advanced Swift and SwiftUI on Hacking with Swift+! >>

Combining similar CoreData entries in a FetchRequest

Forums > SwiftUI

Hello All, I hope someone can help lead me in the right direction. Let me preface this by saying that i am relatively new to Swift, but have a strong programming background. I am looking for way to display entries from a coredata entity in a list view, with like items combined into a sinlge row displaying the combined count as a Quantity.

Example:

In core data, i may have the following 5 entries (first line contains the attributes)

Name / Serial Number / Aquired Date

. sprocket A / 001 / 01/01/2020 . sprocket A / 003 / 01/02/2020 . sprocket A / 005 / 01/02/2020 . sprocket B / 0089 / 01/01/2020 . sprocket B / 0142 / 01/02/2020

I would like my list view to display two row as:

sprocket A -- Qty: 3 sprocket B -- Qty: 2

Can i structure a FetchRequest to combine the entries is such a manner? Or do i need to fetch all records as normal and build a new array with the combined elements to bind my list view to?

Thanks for in advance for the help! I hope i explained it clearly enough.

hi,

i think when you ask CoreData to return entities, they pretty much come back as an array of entities. i don't think you can structure them quite the way you want.

but, there's good news: building a new array that contains a count of each name occurrence is just a few lines of code, but it would be useful to first define a struct to drive your List view:

struct ListItem {
    var name: String
    var quantity: Int
}

in your ContentView, you'll want to have these (here, i am assuming you have some sort of InventoryItem class for the entities you keep in CoreData; and note that i'm opting not to sort these by name -- you'll see below where that can be done).

@FetchRequest(entity: InventoryItem.entity(), sortDescriptors: [])
    var inventoryItems: FetchedResults<InventoryItem> // edited after the fact (i had the wrong type here)