UPGRADE YOUR SKILLS: Learn advanced Swift and SwiftUI on Hacking with Swift+! >>

Changing text when button is pressed

Forums > SwiftUI

I'm a complete beginner, I am following the 100 days of SwiftUI but as someone with zero experience it's slow going. I am trying to put what I have learned into practice which helps me to remember at least parts of what I am learning.

But I am stuck on what I feel should be a pretty simple task. I have a function that makes a random paragraph out of some arrays. It generates the paragraph on load, but I wanted a button to create a new paragraph when pressed. Below is my code, could someone point me in the right direction?

import SwiftUI

struct ContentView: View {

func timeToDie() -> String {
        let moodDie = ["happy", "sad", "quite pleased",]
        let dieDate = ["in a month", "in about a week", "next Tuesday", "almost a year to the day"]
        let howDie = ["be eaten by cats", "get stuck in the washing machine", "fall into a puddle"]
        let doingDie = ["digging for bones", "mixing a drink", "fishing for hats", "waiting for a bus"]
        let whereDie = ["a side street in Paris", "the Treaty Center", "the Bell Road"]
        var result = ""

result = ("I'm \(moodDie.randomElement() ?? "") to tell you that \(dieDate.randomElement() ?? "") you will \(howDie.randomElement() ?? "") while \(doingDie.randomElement() ?? "") in \(whereDie.randomElement() ?? "").")

return result

}

var body: some View {
        ZStack {
            Color.black
                .ignoresSafeArea()
            VStack {
                Spacer()

Button(action: {timeToDie()
                }, label: {
                    Text("When will it happpen?")
                        .foregroundColor(Color.white)
                        .multilineTextAlignment(.center)
                        .font(Font.headline)
                        .padding()
                })

Text(timeToDie())
                    .font(Font.headline)