UPGRADE YOUR SKILLS: Learn advanced Swift and SwiftUI on Hacking with Swift+! >>

Cannot find 'data' in scope error.

Forums > SwiftUI

Hello, I'm new to Swift and ran into an error that has confused me. I have the latest versions of Xcode on my Mac and Swift Playgrounds on my iPad. I have tried this on both with the same error.

Here is the code in question. It from this site and the same code Paul uses in the tutorial YouTube video. Here is the link to the tutorial: https://www.hackingwithswift.com/books/ios-swiftui/sending-and-receiving-codable-data-with-urlsession-and-swiftui

import SwiftUI

struct Response: Codable {
    var results: [Result]
}

struct Result: Codable {
    var trackId: Int
    var trackName: String
    var collectionName: String
}

struct ContentView: View {
    @State private var results = [Result]()

var body: some View {
        List(results, id: \.trackId) { item in
            VStack(alignment: .leading) {
                Text(item.trackName)
                    .font(.headline)
                Text(item.collectionName)
            }
        }
        .task {
            await loadData()
        }
    }

func loadData() async {

guard let url = URL(string: "https://itunes.apple.com/search?term=taylor+swift&entity=song") else {
            print("Invalid URL")
            return
        }

do {
            let (data, _) = try await URLSession.shared.data(from: url)
        } 
        catch {
            print("Invalid data")
        }

if let decodedResponse = try? JSONDecoder().decode(Response.self, from: data) {   // <-- Error here.  Cannot find 'data' in scope.
            results = decodedResponse.results
        }
    }
}

struct ContentView_Previews: PreviewProvider {
    static var previews: some View {
        ContentView()
    }
}

Isn't 'data' defined with the let (data, _)

I think I must be missing something, any help would be greatly appreceated.

James

You have defined data within a do {} catch {} block:

do {
} 
catch {