UPGRADE YOUR SKILLS: Learn advanced Swift and SwiftUI on Hacking with Swift+! >>

SOLVED: Best practices blending SwiftUI and Core Data?

Forums > SwiftUI

Hello!

I am new to Swift and all things related to development in the iOS/Apple space, so I hope this is a good place to ask. Recently I completed a handful tutorials which focus on iterating through data coming from core data and representing it in SwiftUI

Paul Hudson did this in one of his Sunday videos where he made an app to create and iterate over dad jokes. The key take aways for me were:

• Understanding managed object context and how fetch requests play together is important (and Paul went over this in his video)
  • @FetchRequest is a SwiftUI type that handles much of the fetching and sorting of data from Core Data for me, and I soon learned that this is specific to SwiftUI. I can't use this in say, a class within my app (more on this below)

But now I want to take it one step further, fetch data from an API, and store it within Core Data. What I've done so far:

• Created a separate class that will handle calling the external API and paginating through it
  • Coupled this class into my SwiftUI view and call it from within when I want to load more data (e.g. go to next page)

This is where I want to understand if I am approaching it the right way. My application is fetching data and storing in CD but it's been difficult to find best practices on this so maybe I can get some help here?

First, I initialize my class in the view like so:

struct ContentView: View {
    var groupList = GroupList()

// I also use FetchRequest to show the data in this view, but for brevity, I'll only show a limited amount of information:
    @Environment(\.managedObjectContext) var moc

@FetchRequest(entity: Group.entity(), sortDescriptors: [
        NSSortDescriptor(keyPath: \Group.name, ascending: true)
    ]) var groups: FetchedResults<Group>

var body: some View {
        VStack {
            List(groups) { group in