UPGRADE YOUR SKILLS: Learn advanced Swift and SwiftUI on Hacking with Swift+! >>

SOLVED: Am I missing something?

Forums > SwiftUI

Hi everyone,

I'm very new to XCode and SwiftUI and aren't seeing the same in XCode when I start a new project. I'm using version 13.4.1 and when I start a new project, I get the project name, ContentView, Assets and Preview Content in the Navigator pane. Following Paul's project 1 video, he has AppDelegate.swift, ViewController.swift, MainStoryboard, Assets.xcassets, LaunchScreen.storyboard, info.plist and products.

Do I need to reconfigure anything in my XCode? Or is it just something wrong with the way I'm creating a new project?

Best wishes,

James

Do you have a link to the project 1 video you're referring to? Is the video from the SwiftUI course or the UIKIt (100 Days of Swift) course? If Paul's talking about SwiftUI apps in the video you're referring to and has the files you mentioned, it's an old version of the video that uses an older version of Xcode. But it sounds like the video you're referring to uses UIKit, not SwiftUI. The files you listed (AppDelegate.swift, ViewController.swift, MainStoryboard, LaunchScreen.storyboard) are generally used in UIKit apps, not SwiftUI apps.

The first video I see for the first project on the most recent 100 Days of SwiftUI course is at the following link:

https://www.hackingwithswift.com/books/ios-swiftui/understanding-the-basic-structure-of-a-swiftui-app

In this video Paul has the same files you have.