UPGRADE YOUR SKILLS: Learn advanced Swift and SwiftUI on Hacking with Swift+! >>

A question about MVVM and CoreData

Forums > SwiftUI

Hello everyone. I have a question related to MVVM and CoreData. I previously called/updated coredata entities inside Views, but soon realised that the code was getting messy. So I decided to use MVVM to implement a clean architecture. After watching a couple of tutorials, I made a sample model for one of my entities. I am not sure whether I am doing this in the right way or not. The code sample works perfectly. I used this as a Model and I used a ModelView of the View to call this. May you be able to check this code and tell me what can be improved, please? The code is self-explanatory, but if you need more information, please ask. (I am new to Swift)

Also, if the entity has a large amount of data, calling the read function within the Init() is not efficient. In that case, I assume the best thing to do is the use of NSPredicate along with the relevant parameters to the project.

import Foundation
import CoreData

class DogsModel: ObservableObject {

static let dogsModel = DogsModel()

@Published var dogs: [Dogs] = []
    let context = PersistenceController.shared.container.viewContext

init() {
        readRecords()
    }

func readRecords() {
        let request = NSFetchRequest<Dogs>(entityName: "Dogs")
        DispatchQueue.main.async {
            do {
                self.dogs = try self.context.fetch(request)
            }
            catch let error {
                print("Error fetching results \(error)")
            }
        }
    }

func writeRecords(name:String, age:Int, breed:String) {
        let newDog = Dogs(context: context)
        newDog.uuid = UUID()
        newDog.name = name
        newDog.age = age
        newDog.breed = breed
        PersistenceController.shared.save()
        self.readRecords()
    }

func updateRecords(record: Dogs, name:String, age:Int, breed:String) {
        record.name = name