UPGRADE YOUR SKILLS: Learn advanced Swift and SwiftUI on Hacking with Swift+! >>

Using data collected from an API in subsequent views

Forums > Swift

Forgive any noobness here. I'm new to Swift blah blah. I'm trying to go through the 100 days course and it's great BTW.

So I have a function that calls and API and stores the results in a STRUT. It's working fine. :)

Thing is, i'd like to present the data in that STRUT on another view (or maybe multiple other views) in the app.

If anyone can point me in the right direction as to what I need to do i'd be grateful.

In fact my plan for the app is that the function that calls the API collects all of the data any subsequent views will need (i'll need to call a few different APIs to gather all the info that i'll ultimately need)

Any insights most welcome :)

Thank you!

here is your detail view you need the data for , you use @Binding here

import SwiftUI

struct DetailView: View {
    @Binding var movie: MovieData

var body: some View {
        ZStack {
            VStack {

Text(movie.title)
                    .font(.title)
                    .padding()
                Text(movie.overview)
                    .padding()

}

}
    }

}

here is your list view , all you need here is now to make sure you pass a Movie Object on navigation

import SwiftUI

struct Movies: View {

var body: some View {
        NavigationStack {
            ScrollView {

}

.navigationDestination(isPresented: $gotoDetails) {
                DetailView(movie: $mov)   <------ make a state property and when you are looping over the array like  ForEach(viewModel.results, id:\.id)  equate it with the state variable 
            }

}

Thank you but my use case is not exactly the master-detail view.

Here's what I have: