UPGRADE YOUR SKILLS: Learn advanced Swift and SwiftUI on Hacking with Swift+! >>

SOLVED: How would you structure this in Core Data?

Forums > Swift

Hi,

I am relatively new to swift and I am making an app where there is the following data structure:

An excercise can contain multiple stages and each stage can be one of two types. One type is a count down timer, the other a tap counter, and possibly in the future at most 3 more types will be added, that won't have to store many new attributes.

I am using core data and I have everything working regarding adding the stages, but I was wondering if you would create a separate entity for each type of stage, or just have one entity for the stages like I have now where the unused attributes for the particular type (for instance tap count when it's a count down timer) are left empty. These stages are then related in a many to one relationship with the practice.

Or is there a better solution? Since I am relatively new I would like to avoid unnecessary complexity, but would still like to make an appstore worthy app that could grow in the future.

Best regards,

Florian

Florian wrestles with data structures in his exercise application:

An excercise can contain multiple stages and
each stage can be one of two types.
One type is a count down timer, the other a tap counter, ... snip ... would [you] create a separate entity for each type of stage, or just have one entity for the stages?

It seems you defined a one-to-many relationship. One Exercise object might contain many Stages.

From your description, a Stage object might contain different properties. That is, one type of Stage might have a Counter property collecting repetitions. (Perform 15 Push-Ups.) Another Stage object instead will have a Timed property containing the value indicating how long a Stage should be performed. (Hold a plank position for 90 seconds.)

Protocols