UPGRADE YOUR SKILLS: Learn advanced Swift and SwiftUI on Hacking with Swift+! >>

SOLVED: How do I create a new CoreData object without referencing an empty object first?

Forums > Swift

Hello,

This might be super obvious but I'm new to the whole iOS ecosystem and I'm having a bit of trouble figuring something out.

I'm creating a simple app that will allow me to create recipes, and with that I need to be able to add ingredients to recipes.

I have a View that will allow me to create a new recipe, however I don't know how to initialize that view without already having a recipe to reference.

I have tried passing an empty recipe through to the CreateRecipeView and that works until I need to be able to reference the actual CoreData object when trying to add an Ingredient.

I'll post some code down below and perhaps I can get pointed in the right direction - I feel as though I may be close but there is just something that I don't understand.

HomeView

NavigationLink {
                CreateRecipeView(recipe: Recipe())
            } label: {
                Text("Create Recipe")
            }

CreateRecipeView

struct CreateRecipeView: View {
    var recipe: Recipe
    @EnvironmentObject var dataController: DataController
    @Environment(\.managedObjectContext) var managedObjectContext
    @Environment(\.dismiss) var dismiss

@State private var title = ""
    @State private var detail = ""
    @State private var cookingTimeMinutes = ""
    @State private var cuisine = ""
    @State private var meal = ""
    @State private var difficulty = ""

static let cuisines = ["American", "Indian", "Mexican", "Italian", "French", "Japanese", "Korean", "Peruvian", "Thai", "German"]
    static let meals = ["Breakfast", "Lunch", "Dinner", "Dessert", "Snack"]
    static let difficulty = ["Easy", "Medium", "Hard"]

init(recipe: Recipe) {
        self.recipe = recipe
    }
    func update(recipe: Recipe) {
        recipe.title = title
        recipe.detail = detail