UPGRADE YOUR SKILLS: Learn advanced Swift and SwiftUI on Hacking with Swift+! >>

Help with model concept for my app

Forums > Swift

Hi All,

I'm quite new to Swift, and not a particularly experienced programmer in general - trying to get better hence why I'm here, so apologies if what I write is nonsense!

I am trying to build an app to to help me with my work out sessions at the gym but at the moment I am struggling to comeup with a model which is flexible enough (and to be honest actually works!).

What I what to do is be able to build a workout "Program". A program will contain any number of "Sessions", a session will contain any number of "Exercises", and an exercise will contain the name of the exercise, how many times you need to do it and with what weight etc.

My current concept is to have a struct called exercise. This has the properties "name", "reps", "sets" and "intensity". I then have a class called "Session", which which has var exerciseArray - this is an array of type exercise (unsuprisingly). I then have another class called "Program", which has a var sessionArray, which again is a array of type session.

At the moment I am struggling to impliment this into my model as I can't find a way to dynamically spawn new session classes. Spawning new exercise stucts is fairly simple (probably mainly due to me plagerising the code from Pauls iExpense tutorial). So I can build one decent sessionArray, the issue comes when I try to spawn a new class to contain my next session.

Swift seems to force me into hard defining my "Session" class as a variable within my view, which means I can't find a way to fire a new Session class up when I'm done adding exercises to it. Which has started to make me wonder if there is a different better way to achieve this.

Hopefully my ramblings have suffciently interested someone to help thanks for reading!

Kind regards,

Adam