UPGRADE YOUR SKILLS: Learn advanced Swift and SwiftUI on Hacking with Swift+! >>

SOLVED: Decoding dependent JSON data

Forums > Swift

Hi all! ๐Ÿ‘‹

It's my first post here, I'm a Python developer trying to learn Swift and already having issues ๐Ÿ™‚ I'm trying to decode "dependent" JSON API responses: let's imagine a fictional API with two endpoints:

• /players, returns an array of objects with following attributes:
    • id, an integer representing the player ID
    • name, a string representing the player name
  • /games, returns an array of objects with following attributes:
    • name, a string representing the name of the game
    • playerId1, an integer representing the ID of the first player
    • playerId2, an integer representing the ID of the second player

I model each type with a Swift struct:

struct Player: Decodable {
    var id: Int
    var name: String?
}

struct Game: Decodable {
    var name: String
    var player1: Player
    var player2: Player

enum CodingKeys: String, CodingKey {
        case name
        case player1 = "playerId1"
        case player2 = "playerId2"
    }
}

I want to decode the response from /games into an array of Game objects, with correct Players attributes, so I extended Game with a custom initializer but I don't know how to retrieve all player attributes:

extension Game {

init(from decoder: Decoder) throws {
        let values = try decoder.container(keyedBy: CodingKeys.self)

name = try values.decode(String.self, forKey: .name)

//                                             HOW SHOULD I RETRIEVE THE PLAYER'S NAME GIVEN THEIR ID HERE?
        //                                                                         |
        //                                                                         |
        //                                                                         V
        player1 = Player(id: try values.decode(Int.self, forKey: .player1), name: nil)