UPGRADE YOUR SKILLS: Learn advanced Swift and SwiftUI on Hacking with Swift+! >>

SOLVED: "Custom Zone in Public DB" error when using iOS15 / Xcode 13

Forums > Swift

Hi All

I am hitting an issue when developing an app that uses the CloudKit Public DB. I am relatively new to this, and I may be doing something wrong. I have distilled the issue to use just the template app that comes when you create a new Core Data with iCloud app, and detailed the steps below. My question is basically, am I doing something stupid? If I'm not then seems likely it's a bug in Xcode and I'll just have to wait.

In a nutshell, syncing to the public DB works for the first run of the app only. Stopping and restarting the app seems to throw errors and cause the mirroring delegate to fail.

Steps are:

1. Create App with Use Core Data and Host in ICloud - interface is SWiftUI

2.In project signings and capabilities add iCloud and Background Modes

1. In nearly appeared iCloud section enable Cloudkit and choose or create a container

2. In newly appeared Background Modes section enable Remote Notifications

3. In persistence.swift add :

import CloudKit

1. Still in persistence.swift add the following:

guard let description = container.persistentStoreDescriptions.first else
    {
        fatalError("Somethng bad happened")
    }

description.cloudKitContainerOptions?.databaseScope = .public

I have added this just before the following line:

container.loadPersistentStores(completionHandler: { (storeDescription, error) in

1. In he schema model, highlight the default configuration and check in the data model inspector that "use cloudkit" is checked

2. Run the app and hit the + a few times to add some records.