UPGRADE YOUR SKILLS: Learn advanced Swift and SwiftUI on Hacking with Swift+! >>

Architecture question?

Forums > Swift

Thanks to all in advance for this great forum!

I am fairly new to Swift & Native iOS

I am building an app in SwiftUI following MVVM I am struggling a bit on the best way to save and persist data for my app.

The user flow is user fills out a form consisting of 2 strings, a price and either selects a default local image or uses their own image. Then an instance of a struct is created that user can tally a quantity and price subtotal for that instance.

The data consists of a couple of strings and a number, also user selects from a selection of default images which would be basically a string or take an image of their own witch I assume is just a reference to an image on users device. I think there would be less than 20 instances of each struct on app.

My question is what is the best way to save and persist this data? Is core data really necessary?

Thanks so much for feedback it really means a lot to me

Cheers Mike

I'm not sure I understand the user flow. Or what the app is doing. So I will go with what I think you mean:

1- User fills out a form that has 2 input strings, one input number and one image. 2- Upon selection, the user will then be able to change the quantity which updates the subtotal so far.

This doesn't provide enough info about your Model. But my guess is the entire model is:

• string1
  • string2
  • price
  • quantity
  • total

Anyway, all that to simply say that it seems Core Data can help for sure. But your question "is it really necessary?" reminds me of when I first started with Core Data. Let me tell you it's not that difficult to implement and it does not come with some performance overhead. Especially nowasdays, it can be as little as 40 lines of code and you're up and running with it.