UPGRADE YOUR SKILLS: Learn advanced Swift and SwiftUI on Hacking with Swift+! >>

MVVM, SwiftUI, Combine and the question of CoreData

Forums > iOS

I am relatively new to iOS programming and I am having a hard time making peace between how CoreData works and what I know about software architecture.

So I am trying to setup a project around the MVVM pattern with Combine framework and SwfitUI.

My first problem is the @FetchRequest property wrapper. In every SwiftUI sample and tutorial I've seen, the view talks directly to the database. It is not just that I don't like this because I'm so religious about separation of concerns, it is making it hard for me to implement my use case. The local database is a cache for me, the actual source of truth is in the cloud, and the cache needs to keep up with the changes on the cloud. The observable pattern fits in nicely with this scenario; you serve what you have in the cache, and at the same time, you run your business logic to see if you need to fetch a fresh copy of your data, and if it is the case, you load your data and make another serve to the view layer. That will be hard to implement with @FetchRequest to say the least.

The other problem is when you need to load just some of the columns out of your database table, with CoreData that means that not only you'll be arranging a rather complex database fetch operation inside your view, you'll get a dictionary result at the end, which means a whole lot of string literals for keys and type castings for values in your view code.

I would normally just inject a repository into my view-model and, if required, I would return a light version of my entity from the repository with only the required columns on it.