UPGRADE YOUR SKILLS: Learn advanced Swift and SwiftUI on Hacking with Swift+! >>

How and best way to store data from an external API into my iOS App

Forums > iOS

Hello!

I am fairly new to iOS programming and want to make my first App for the Apple Store and my portfolio. I could use some tips perhaps :) I thought I could create an App which will list the items currently on sale on an external web shop. I know the people working there and they are based in my area. This shop is offering a limited amount of items for sale (around 10-20) so I could make a collection view. It will be a simple app and a nice addition to their business!

I already made a webscraping script in python (using libraries like Beautiful Soup etc) and got a JSON file out of it. I wanted to host this file on AWS cloud and create an API endpoint to use for my iOS app, so I can use the data from the JSON and import it using Codable. But is this the best way? So far it could be working like this but it is the best solution?

Any tips from you guys? Should I use Core Data or CloudKit instead?

I did not yet do much with Core Data or CloudKit and I am just starting with some tutorials about this. I cannot see clearly yet if I should use them for my small project or not. How would an experienced iOS programmer approach this ? Should I use Core Data or it is overkill? Did not use it yet Using iCloud I get free storage but I cannot use python right? Should I do the webscraper in Swift? It would be nice to store an archive of past items too so the database could get larger.. 🤔

Hi,

the best solution would be if the shop could give you an API with items on sale.

I think the custom scrapper with Python is fine but there is always a risk that the shop will modify something and depending on how robust your solution is it could stop working. Maybe check something like this https://apify.com/?